Google announced that they will officially be ending the Google+ social network on April 2nd, 2019.
After discovering a security breach potentially impacting 52.5 million users, on top of low user engagement, Google+ will be shutting down 4 months earlier than previously planned.
Google has sent emails to users informing them of their decision to shut the site down permanently, with the ability to create new accounts being disabled starting February 4th.
Now would be the time to start saving all of the photos and content from your Google+ account as the site will delete user's photos, videos, pages and past posts. However, photos and videos with their backups in Google Photos will remain as they are.
This deletion will not affect other Google services such as Gmail, Youtube, and Maps. This process will take awhile, so Google has informed users that they may still be able to see parts of their Google+ account via activity log until all of Google+ consumer is deleted.
"From all of us on the Google+ team, thank you for making Google+ such a special place. We are grateful for the talented group of artists, community builders, and thought leaders who made Google+ their home. It would not have been the same without your passion and dedication". – Google